Declaration of Independence

In June, 1776 a “Committee of Five” was formed by the Second Continental Congress to frame this sacred document. The Committee of Five consisted of Thomas Jefferson of Virginia, Benjamin Franklin of Pennsylvania, Roger Sherman of Connecticut, John Adams of Massachusetts, and Robert R. Livingston of New York.

Thomas Jefferson wrote the original draft that was shared with John Adams and Benjamin Franklin. The final copy was presented to the Continental Congress on June 28, 1776. From Independence Hall, Philadelphia, on July 4, 1776 a new representative republic was declared! This page is sponsored by USA.

The Charters of Freedom: National Archives

DVD, Exhibits and Educational Resources by The History Channel USHistory.Org

The Library of Congress


Signers of the Declaration of Independence

Colonial Hall: Biographies of the Signers

Independence Hall, Philadelphia

History of Independence Hall (1859), by D.W. Belisle. Online Edition

Independence Hall Association, Philadelphia:
Independence Hall is listed by UNESCO as a World Heritage Site.

The Liberty Bell at Independence Hall

The Liberty Bell Virtual Museum


Our Online Library has been divided into specific categories. We encourage visitors to explore all sections listed or click the sections that most interest you. Enjoy your journey!

“As the last vibration of the midnight bell proclaimed the presence of the jubilant day, the sound of fife and drum broke on the silent air. Hail Columbia, coupled with the ever stirring strains of The Star Spangled Banner and Yankee Doodle, mingled with the firing of guns, the sharp, loud crack of powder-charged anvil, and the glad cheers of hilarious voices. On came the music and our hearts beat quicker as we beheld, borne in front of a band of Hawaiians, the glorious banner of the free. Fourth of July at Hanalei at Princeville Plantation, Kauai, on the 90th anniversary of American independence.”

Source: Pacific Commercial Advertiser, Saturday, July 14, 1866